Kensington Heritage Commission Meeting

November 25, 2020 Minutes

The meeting was held virtually using the Town's Zoom platform. The meeting was posted on the Town's website so the public was able to attend. Sarah Wiggin, Deputy Ton Clerk opened the meeting and was present to help as needed. Lynne Monroe hosted the meeting with her email and phone so that anyone who called in or wished to join could have done so easily.

Lynne Monroe read the Checklist to Ensure Meetings are Compliant with the Right-to-Know Law During the State of Emergency.

In Attendance:

Present:
Regular Members: Lynne Monroe, Chair; Elaine Kaczmarek, Secretary; Bob Gustafson, Treasurer, Conservation Commission Representative; Meghan Gross
Ad Hoc Members: Bob Solomon, Selectmen's Representative; Mike Schwotzer, Planning Board Representative;
Alternates: Frank Whittemore, Ben Cole
Absent:
Alternate: Alan Tuthill, Regular Member: Steven Mallory

Call to order at 6:17 PM

Minutes

review from10/28/20 meeting

Mike Schwotzer pointed out that the date of the meeting was wrong and it was corrected. Bob Solomon made a motion to accept the minutes as corrected and Mike Schwotzer seconded. Approved unanimously by roll call vote.

Members

There are two positions open to complete two-year terms. Suggestion to put the word out on Kensington Connects, Community News, and the Historical Society.

OLD BUSINESS

Plan NH/Town Center Committee

Lynne went to the Selectmen's meeting to discuss the idea of reopening the Plan NH charette findings. The selectmen were interested in the possible rewrite of the Master Plan as part of this effort. Lynne explained that while the efforts of a Town Center committee would certainly be included in the Master Plan, and the Heritage Commission would certainly be interested in working on the Historic Resources Chapter of the Master Plan, and this point, the interest was in forming a committee to discuss the Plan NH study. Lynne and Bob S. will meet with the Planning Board, but Mike suggested that the board has a lot going on right now and getting on the agenda later would be a better idea. Some discussion was had on potential members of this committee. Suggestion included Jason Greene, deputy fire chief, Bob Gustafson representing the Conservation Commission and David Buxton, roads. Bob Solomon opened discussion regarding creating a committee to review the NH Charrette recommendations for the Town Center.

<u>The Congregational Church:</u> Mike reported that the windows were repainted and are coming soon, the new shutters are in the garage for the winter, the furnace will be converted to propane, a new 1,000 gallon propane tank will be installed, above ground across the driveway.

<u>Universalist Church:</u> Ben Cole reported that the Trustees had their second meeting and passed new bylaws. Mike Schwotzer is the treasurer. Steven Mallory gave a report of his inspection. He is optimistic about the condition of the building. The first task is to stabilize the bell tower. It was voted unanimously by the trustees to keep the bell tower. Following that, replace roof, rafters, and woodwork. John Watney would develop a plan this fall and perhaps work could be done in the spring. It was a positive conclusion. The town has problems with trees around the church and they will be cut. There is no insurance on the building yet, but it will be available this week. Discussion included finding volunteers to work on the building to reduce costs and creating memberships to raise money.

Farm Museum: No news this month.

The Library: No news this month.

NEW BUSINESS

Meghan Gross attended the NH Preservation Alliance zoom meeting to hear about advice for community preservation tips. Advice included: doing building assessments to get grants, working with local contractors, making buildings safe, getting the word out on the importance of buildings to the town, finding donors and looking for grants.

Frank Whittemore made a motion to adjourn at 7:02 pm, seconded by Bob Solomon. Approved unanimously by roll call vote.

Next meeting will be December 24, 2020 at 6:15pm.

Respectfully submitted, Elaine Kaczmarek, secretary Lynne Monroe, chair